Say So

If you want me

Then say so

Don’t throw rocks at the sun

Kicking sand into the water

I held your hand

You crumpled your fingers

Growing takes time

And only happens during certain seasons

When you looked at me

It was summer

Then backs turned 

An ice age spread

Deep 

Deep

Into the now frozen crust of the earth 

Scraping along the edges

I found fossilized memories

That tore open passages

I thought had been destroyed

But I left them

Unexplored

I’ve been down them before

When ivy grew along the walls

Life was felt 

Warmth was certain

I don’t need to go back

Leave a Reply

