The Covenant

 I’m the person you write stories about

Not the person writing the book 

What an everglow it would be to hear from the other side

The one who is doing it wrong

I was given a choice 

Between

Being moderately in love forever 

Or

Being madly in love for a moment

It wasn’t until I lost you

I realized the memory

Of this unfortunate covenant 

That doomed me 

To dream of you 

Every mutilating night

For all of the incessantly 

repetitive 

eternal

nights 

I will gaze into your eyes that hold an abyss of secrets

In all of your luciferic state

The very appearance of the planet Venus while pretending to be the morning star

But your finger will never again touch my skin

Although I thirst for your bite 

At all hours of the night 

Leave a Reply

