Okay

One more day

Of selfishness

Of feeling sorry

For myself

Of realizing this life is walked alone

I’ll get up

Keep on trying 

Fight off demons

Write more songs

I’ll learn to play guitar

Braid my daughter’s hair

Try to teach morals into this world

I know I’ve been gone

In the most selfish way

Maybe sometimes 

We just need it that way

I will persevere

As only I do best

Begin preparing 

For the next test

Of overcoming 

Insurmountable odds

Homes imploding

Money fading 

Love remaining inconsistent in that way

I’ve carried the weight of this world before

It’s about time to increase that resistance

Long live the self-proclaimed queen

Leave a Reply

