Chrysalism

“Chrysalism: the amniotic tranquility of being indoors during a thunderstorm” -John Koenig’s Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows
I understand your anger

Let it rage

Let it consume the horizon

Let it crack open the sky

Light up this parallel universe that pretends to care about what it does to you

I will cover my naked body with the soft warmth of a pleated duvet

Being therapeutically entranced by your righteous anger

Bringing flashes of the future into my room

I feel the passion you stomp into the earth’s core

It makes me feel humble to observe your gracious tears that comfort the tortured landscape

I will not interrupt

Or attempt to block out

This much anticipated devastation

I will respect all that you have to show us

From within this hollowed frame

That shields me from your wrath

Leave a Reply

