A Fool’s Smile

I can’t even

Not now 

Not now

Words

Are

Evaporating

As I smile

An uncontrollable smile

An idiot’s smile

A fool’s smile

This has never been controlled 

Or contained

As it could never be

Wildfire spreading from cell to cell

As I sit and think

Replay in my mind

How can something so burning

So beautiful

So bright

Bring such devastation

Yet I walk right into it

Numb to the trap’s bite

Pretending I’ve outgrown sorrow and sadness

But it will surely bring me to my knees 

When like before

It becomes as much nothing

As it was before

Leave a Reply

