To Forget


There 

There

Poor dear

Rest your heavy heart

I’ve placed a pillow 

On the floor

A blanket that has been warmed

You tell me you don’t want me 

I tell you to go

You look at me quite confused

As you have no reason

Scratching your face

Rubbing your eyes

I don’t fade into the background

Tell me again

What I don’t deserve

I think you meant to aim much higher

But you fell

Heart and soul

And now you have to lie

To yourself above all else

To remember

To forget

To go after what will never replace

The touch 

The feel

The smell

The taste 

Of what was 

All the power in the world 

Pressed into a single moment of laughter

And biting down

No

Won’t

Try to change you

But my god

I wish 

My mind

Would forget you

Leave a Reply

