Awakening


Your harsh words 

Brought me to kindness

You wrestled with demons

As the Angels on my shoulders watched

You led me to my confidence

As you 

One

Two

Punched 

Me in the ring

I couldn’t see the battle you were fighting

The devil told you he would win

You pushed me into the fire

To save yourself

I thought you just loved me too much

I was raised by men who showed love 

With harshness

So I’ve never been able to tell the difference 

Between pulling hair 

And breaking bones

You came at me with both fists clenched

My instincts told me to …

But I just walked away

With eyes swollen shut

Unable to see the world

But now that gauze has been removed

I search for you in every angry face

I’m reminded of you in every curse word

Carved into the wood

Tonight he reminded me of you

And I finally came to life

Leave a Reply

