Never Existed


Words washing up on shore

Telling a story I never wanted to be a part of

Playing with fire

And getting burned

I tried to cut the power off

But the sparks kept flying over my head

Filling up what was left with water

carrying it to the gate and leaving it with a note

Warning that the contents were corrosive as they ate through the metal 

Seeping into the soil

A radioactive tree grows from my naval

Its roots are piercing into essential organs

Complications from the event will cause my death

I would leave you with a whisper

But your face won’t be seen here again

Like a ghost in a beautiful dream

You never existed

I would pull you from my thoughts if I saw you again

But the most frightening part is

I’ll never again speak your name

Leave a Reply

