Pain


I used to think I had to keep track of all of my hurt 

So I could go back and pull the memory forward

Too many to remember

I started writing them down

Reviewing them like receipts

Memorizing stabs in the back

Swallowing indignation every night 

Today I cut myself open

Cracked the rib cage wide

One bone at a time

Let all of the pain float into the air

Out over the sea

It looked like rain

It fell over the Pacific 

And mixed in like salt

I’ve decided to leave it there

But sometimes 

I’ll go and stare at the waves

I’ll see pieces of my pain

Then walk away

Leave a Reply

