Word of Caution


Young girls listen up

We say this 

With caution tape

You cross the line

It is your own heart you risk

For there are boys who do not know how to play nice

And lie to themselves so well

It sounds like truth

It seems like fun and necessary 

But eleven years of breaking hearts feels like

Buckshot to the chest

This is what he will say:

Blah blah blah

I’m looking for something real

Blah blah blah 

I want something serious

Blah blah blah 

I like you

Blah blah blah 

You seem fun 

Blah blah blah 

I’d like to get to know you

Blah blah blah 

I like kissing you 

Blah blah blah 

I’d like to wake up next to you

Blah blah blah 

Why are you being clingy

Blah blah blah 

I think we need some space 

Blah blah blah 

I never said I wanted a relationship 

Blah blah blah 

That last girl was crazy 

And you, my dear, are the last girl

And this will never change

Until you start to read between the lines

Love is not a game

No matter how hard he tries to convince you

To roll the dice

If it’s just for fun 

Run, don’t walk

Because no matter how much you like to pretend 

Your heart has a gun

And if it feels threatened 

it’s either pointing it at you or him

Leave a Reply

