Dirt


Sweeping all of your dirt under a rug

Afraid it will cause a storm

But I wear my mistakes as ornaments in my hair

Not easy to cover up

One violet 

One forget-me-not

That are beautiful in their grace

But require meticulous care to maintain 

It is not always how it appears

And my smooth edges 

Have been sanded down

Or covered up by plastic 

That makes it hard to breathe

So forgive me if I stare 

But I find beauty in your scars

When you pull back the bandages 

You no longer need

I’ll look you in the eye when you’re ready

Leave a Reply

