I Was Given a Boy


I asked for a man

I was given a boy

“It will be alright, momma”

He wakes me by caressing my cheek

He watches me in the rear view mirror

He asks for me when I’m not there

He hugs me and means every squeeze given

He loves to sing

We dance together

He likes to rock n’ roll

He can waltz on the porch

He loves me “so stinkin’ much”

We watch the ocean 

Ebb and flow

Life is the same

You just never know

I didn’t ask him to love me so much

But I never had to

He was given to me to heal this hurt

I just hope I am enough 

Leave a Reply

