Hope


Sifting through ashesA shiny glimmer catches my eye

Labeled “hope” it seems familiar

I start to toss it, but it becomes a part of my skin

Changing colors and widening my eyes 

I start to see what could be instead of what was 

Rebuilt towns and cities coming up better than they were 

With kinder people 

And fewer salesman 

I saw you sitting On a bloodied curb staring at your feet

I didn’t need it anymore, so I offered 

The bright prize to you

You looked at me with disappointment 

I left it sitting by your side

I saw you in a reflection

You picked up the discarded “hope”

It was the most beautiful thing I’d ever seen

Leave a Reply

