Confessions

I’ve wondered what it would Be

Like

When I show someone who

I

Really

Am

But it turns out it’s

No

Different

Than when I was hiding behind

My

Indifferent

Stare

For we are selfish beings

Only

Seeing

Ourselves

And that great reveal only matters

If they are a part of it

Or if it is on 

Reality

TV

How funny we are calling

Make-believe

Real

And ignoring honesty because of

Its

Plainness 

In case you missed it, 

Those were pieces of my hurt

I swallowed while being shaken

They grew into fruit 

Even Goblins wouldn’t sell at the market

So I hid them under my pillow until 

They fermented into wine

That I never intended for you to drink

But you asked for a refreshment

I knew you hated the taste of water

You ignored the smell

Pretended to not be drunk

But even a Puritan knows what a lush looks like

You didn’t remember my confessions

You didn’t care to ask for a recap

So we pretended to share something

And walked our separate ways

Leave a Reply

